Porto

When I was done with the meal, I started my tour around Porto.

At first I was not impressed by it, and it made me upset. I cannot say what was the reason, but well.. maybe the meat was the problem? 😅 Nevertheless, the more I was walking, deeper I was going into the city, the more I started liking it.

2018-11-07 06.53.05 1.jpg

While I was walking down the street I tried to understand on the map how to get to the railway station Bento, when an old man came to me and asked where I want to get (he asked it in Portuguese but it seems, more you travel more you start understand foreign languages/easier to communicate with locals). The old man did not speak English but he still explained how to get where I was going. Isn’t it nice?

The Bento railway station is beautiful. From outside it looks as a normal station but once you get inside… it is fascinating. I hope I will be able to upload the video of that beauty of Porto.

2018-11-16 02.40.07 1.jpg

2018-11-16 02.40.06 1.jpg

After Bento I continued to the quay to see Ponte Luís I bridge, the bridge that was built by disciple of Gustave Eiffel. It so big, and all metallic. Ponte Luís I bridge has upper and lower passages. The upper passage has road for tram lines and pedestrians, the lower passage has road for cars and for pedestrians as well.

I got to the quay and… and I was speechless. I love water and quays are one of my weaknesses 🙈 the houses by the river are so lovely, the restaurants are cozy and cute small souvenir shops.. talented street musicians that playing songs and with their look you know he plays it for you 😅🙈 romantic, just how I love it.

It’s always difficult for me to leave such places but I had to go in order to see more while it was still bright.

I crossed that huge metallic bridge on its lower passage and got to another beautiful side of Porto. On another side there are many choices where to have sampling of portwein and wine. There are also something like fairs where you can purchase anything from magnets to bags. You know, the cork is very popular there, they have bookmarks made from cork, wallets from cork and even bags. Insane! In a good way 😉

I decided not to go to any of those winecellars. Until I saw a cozy place a little bit up the hill.. sadly it was 18.46 and the winery was closing at 19.00. Technically I could have tasted those six glasses of different wines, but what’s the point? The wine is made to enjoy it. With the waiter we agreed that I will come tomorrow and try those wines..  I continued climbing up the hill. Luckily by stairs hehe.

Remember I said I was not impressed by the city at first??? How fooolish I were! As soon as I got up to the hill, I’ve changed my mind on 180 degrees. The view is just breath taking. I cannot describe it so I will just leave some photos here 😍🙈

From there I got to the upper passage of Ponte Luís I bridge, from where view is even more incredible! And from there I went back to the guesthouse, and also on my way bought some ( read “a lot” ) of souvenirs haha.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑